Students, Faculty, Staff Honored at Awards Chapel


Southwestern Christian University held its annual Awards Chapel on April 28 to honor outstanding student, faculty and staff accomplishments from the past academic year. The awards recognized those who made achievements in the areas of academics, leadership and personal improvement.

The following is the list of award recipients:


(Students who have completed a minimum of 12 hours during the semester with a grade point average of 3.75 or above)
Arts and Sciences: Daniel Allen, Barbora Baca-Bacova, Dakota Kappelle, Meredith Light, Lizet Maldonado, Lajuana Morgan, Austin Ortega, Tanesha Ray, Tyler Scott, Chelsea Smith, Victoria Snow, Abigail Verschage; Education and Sport Studies: Ivan Acimovic, Michaela Arington, Caitlin Cantrell, Jessica Crenshaw, Taylor Estep, Maranda Janz, Madison Johnson, Quinn Mason, Tyler Mcdonald, Jill Owens, Shelbi Robinett, Shawn Scott, Sharae Shackelford, Tory Sharp, Jack Symes, Jessie Whitney, Alli Williams; Professional and Graduate Studies: Iago Boaventura, Dallas Bruns, Mason Bush, Kimberley Hayes, Sarah Hoelscher, Amanda Jones, Peter Kalonga, Rodrigo Llaneza, Milan Milicevic, Alaura Prenzlow, Taylor Stamp, Kevin Webster, Jason Wilksch

(Students are eligible for the President’s Honor Roll if they have completed a minimum of 12 hours during the semester with a grade point average of 4.0)
Debra Adkins, Elizabeth Airhart, Manuel Bayer, Micah Bartram, Hillary Bennett, Jeanierose Brooks, Garryt Bryant, Jessica Clay, Samantha Cleveland, Benjamin Collier, Corey Cupp, Lindsey Entz, Jasmine Gaddis, Cody Garbani, Kaylee Gernandt, Grace Hadley, Alexys Hammett, Kodi Horn, Lyness Jere, Taylor Jordan, Nathan Lowder, Jonathan Maloy, Samantha McDonald, Andi McGill, Perri McGill, Thokozani Mgala, Kyle Mickleburgh, Dalton Miller, Faith Mincher, Natalie Nash, Timothy Nash, Charity Nyirenda, Josiah Olsson, Renee Reeves, Betsabe Salazar Romero, Madeline Sanderson, Kaisha Schoonover, Kacee Schroeder, Dalton Secrist, Mariah Selvey, Kasparas Sileikis, Rimvydas Sileikis, Kaleb Siler, Kachinvya Silwamba, Chloe Thomas, Courtney Traylor, Kylee Warne, Elisabeth Willis, Tomas Williams

SCU honors its students who are graduating with honors are distinguished during the commencement ceremony by wearing colored cords that indicate their achievement...
Cum Laude: (Those who graduate with a cumulative GPA between 3.50 and 3.69 by display of their red cords) Kimberley Hayes, William Long, Kaily Love, Adam Rowbury, David Sawyer, Samuel Taylor, Chloe Thomas, Alisha Vosburg, William Waldrop, Elizabeth Ward, Wendy Wilcox, Sandra Wineberry
Magna Cum Laude: (Those who graduate with a cumulative GPA between 3.70 and 3.89 by display of their silver cords) Hayley Boettler, Jeanierose Brooks, Kevin Fletcher, Kaylee Gernandt, Kenneth Gray, Sarah Hoelscher, Madison Johnson, John Leonard, Thokozani Mgala, Faith Mincher, Dorothy Way, Colin Yocum
Summa Cum Laude: (Those who graduate with a cumulative GPA between 3.90 and 4.0 by display of their gold cords) Hillary Bennett, Gilrie Cuffy, Rebekah Magbee, Stephen Owen, Kaleb Siler

Theta Alpha Kappa Honor Society
(Students inducted into the national honor society dedicated to recognize academic excellence in students and in scholars in the fields of Religious Studies and Theology)
Renee Reeves

Distinguished Athlete of the Year
(Presented to a junior or senior athlete with the highest grade point average)
Taylor Jordan

Scholar Athlete of the Year
(Presented to a graduating senior athlete with the highest GPA)
Samantha Cleveland

Teacher of the Year
Dr. Terry Tramel, Theology and Missions Professor

Staff Member of the Year
Tanica Brown, Receptionist/Admissions Administrative Assistant

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges
Hillary Bennett, Shayla Conner, Byron Dixon , Jessica Gannaway, Kaylee Gernandt, Kimberley Hayes, Sarah Hoelscher, Madison Johnson, William Long, Rebekah Magbee, Jonathan Maloy, Faith Mincher, Su Sung, Chloe Thomas, Elizabeth Ward

Outstanding Freshman Award
(Special recognition given to a freshman student that exemplifies the qualities and characteristics of a diligent student willing and eager to become all that God has in for them)
Elisabeth Willis

Leadership Award
(Graduating senior chosen by the President’s Cabinet from nominees submitted by the faculty)
Kelsi Cook

Hamilton Service Award
(Named after Wallace Hamilton for the work-study student who embodies the true spirit of Christian Service by distinguishing themselves through acts of service and volunteerism)
Hannah Hayes

Pilgrim’s Progress Award
(Designated to honor the character development in the student who best exemplifies overall growth and development during their college years, including academic, social and spiritual growth)
Hillary Bennett

Spirit Award
(Given to the student who exemplifies the spirit of SCU through participation in activities and commitment to the SCU campus culture)
Jacobin Ainatsiferana

Eagle of Excellence Award
Rebekah Magbee

Intramural Men’s MVP
Steven Lindsey

Intramural Women’s MVP
Elizabeth Jones

Intramural Men’s Captain of the Year
Andrew Leinberg

Intramural Women’s Captain of the Year
Holly Bennett


Southwestern Christian University is a Christ-centered liberal arts institution equipping students for a life of learning, leadership, and service; integrating faith, learning, and living; and empowering graduates to excel and to positively impact their world for Jesus Christ. Please support our mission at