Accreditation and Affiliation

Southwestern Christian University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a regional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, and is approved by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education to operate as a degree-granting institution of higher education.

SCU is approved by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services of the U.S. Department of Homeland of Security for the admission of international students and Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs State Approving Agency.

SCU enjoys the full endorsement of the Discipleship Ministries of the International Pentecostal Holiness Church as an approved educational entity for training ministers, missionaries, and Christian workers to serve the church around the world.

The Higher Learning Commission

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation and one of two Commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits, and thereby grants membership in the Commission and in the North Central Association, to degree-granting educational institutions in the North Central region: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.


Literally thousands of students have earned their degrees through Southwestern Christian University. SCU awards associate's, bachelor's and master's degrees. As a fully accredited institution, SCU is a place where bright minds and devoted hearts come together to help students achieve their educational, professional and ministerial goals.